29.4 C
Monday, April 22, 2024

Liberia: Top Cabinet Ministers Snub Legislature Race

Must read

By Oracle News Daily

Senior cabinet Ministers will not participate in this year’s legislative election as they appear content with their roles in the Executive branch of the Liberian government compared to previous electioneer seasons.

For the first time since 2017 presidential elections, people heading ministries stay put. They did not resign to engage in electoral politics, according to the presidency’s published list of officials aspiring for the Senate and the House of Representatives.

President George Weah Thursday accepted the resignation of several Liberian government officials wanting to compete for elective positions in the scheduled October 10 polls.

Twenty  officials exited government’s service after the President asked members of the cabinet and other appointed public employees wanting to  contest for  seat in the Senate and the House of Representatives  to quit as required by the code of conduct for government workers and employees.

The Ministry of Internal Affairs dominates the list with 40% as eight local government officials opt for career in the legislature. Only two deputy ministers are in the race for either the House or the Senate.

Liberia code of conduct for public officials and government employees demands to individuals appointed by the president and seeking elective position to relinquish role to   ensure that public offices and resources are not used to influence the outcomes of electoral processes.



Name Institution Position
Zinnah Norman Internal Affairs Bopolu City Mayor
Kebbeh Forpka Collins Liberia Water & Sewer Corporation Board Member
Josephine Davies Ministry of Commerce Inspector General
Barbara M. Keah Ministry of Internal Affairs Assistant Superintendent Sinoe County
Barbara Keah Ministry of Internal Affairs Assistant Statutory District Superintendent for Development/ Gbarpolu County
Lance  Gbagonyon Ministry of Information Deputy Minister for Culture
William Dakel General Services Agency Deputy Director General for Administration
Charles K. Bardyl National Port Authority Board Member
Duanna Kamara Liberia Water & Sewer Corporation Managing Director
Moses Kolllie Liberia Civil Aviation Authority Director General
Myer Beteah National Transit Authority Deputy Managing Director
Anthony Quiwonkpa Ministry of State Deputy Minister of State WIthout Portfolio
William T Thompson Ministry of Mines & Energy Assistant Minister for Energy
Morris Saryon Ministry of Commerce Assistant Minister for Industry
Ruth Sawmadal Ministry of Internal Affairs Assistant Minister for Administration
Eric Vaye Ministry of Internal Affairs Assistant Superintendent for Fiscal Affairs
Betty Breeze Doh Ministry of Internal Affairs Assistant Superintendent for Development, Grand Gedeh County
Ellen Blessing Howe Ministry of Internal Affairs Harper City Mayor
Edward R. Dartue Ministry of Internal Affairs Commissioner of Louisiana Township, Montserrado County
Tiah Nagbe National Identification Registry.


Executive Director

Latest article