27.9 C
Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Nine Senators Defeated

Must read

By E. J Nathaniel Daygbor

The Liberian electorates have successfully voted out nine of the 13 senators that sought reelection in the just ended October 10, legislative and presidential elections.

Only four including Senate leader Albert Chie are returning to the Capitol after a successful bid.

Out of the 30-member Senate, 15 senators were constitutionally destined for reelection but Gbarpolu County Senator Daniel Nateehn died during the early parts of the campaign period while Jim Tornolah declined to seek reelection thereby leaving 13 Senate members to fight for their seat.

Senators retained are; Montserrado County-Saah Joseph, Nimba County strongman Prince Yormie Johnson, Maryland County, J. Gble-bo Brown and Senate Pro tempore Albert Chie.

Though the National Elections Commission is yet to announce the final results but with 98.45 of the polling places across the country reported  and 1.9 million votes tallied, it’s clear the following senators have lost the reelection:

Dr. Henrique Tokpah, Bong County, Morris Saytumah of Bomi, Grand Cape Mount County Cllr. Varney Sherman, and Grand Bassa, Jonathan Kaipee.

Others are; River Cess County, Francis Saturday Paye, Lofa County Steve Zargo,  Sinoe County, J. Milton Teahjay, River Gee County Conmany Wesseh, and Grand Gedeh County A. Marshall Dennis.

As the Liberian Senate resumes yesterday for the continuation of their 5th session sitting, the premises of the Capitol Building, the official seat of the first branch of government appears to be ghost town as staffers of defeated lawmakers were loitering within the corridors of the Capitol.


Latest article